IRS FreeWebinar: Independent Contractor or Employee

Hi all

My husband is a CPA and I do data entry for him. As a CPA, he needs to complete continuing education every year, and he likes me to do it with him as a learning experience for me. We just signed up for one that might be helpful for everyone here...

Playout date:
March 12, 2015
2 p.m. Eastern Time
1 p.m. Central Time
12 p.m. Mountain Time
11 a.m. Pacific Time

What: Free Webcast - Employee or Independent Contractor?
When: March 12, 2015; 2 p.m. (Eastern)
How: Register for this event. You will use the same link to attend the event.
Learn about:
• Defining “Employee”
• The three control factors
• Key vendor characteristics
• The Voluntary Classification Settlement Program

[www.visualwebcaster.com]

If the link does not work, try cutting and pasting to your browser, or send me your email and I will forward the original email to you.

I work my mystery shopping as an employee, which is different from you all that are independent contractors. I think I will get good info here, and hope you do as well.

Hugs,

Suzie

Create an Account or Log In

Membership is free. Simply choose your username, type in your email address, and choose a password. You immediately get full access to the forum.

Already a member? Log In.

If I remember right if you are an IC they cannot tell you what time to start and stop unless the business that you are working at is closed. They can tell you what day the job needs to be done. Whereas an employee can be told when to start and stop. There are a few other deals that I don't remember.
2stepps, it's not that cut and dried. Controlling the work hours is only one of several factors that determine what you should be classified as. The ability to work for multiple companies, the "employer" furnishing or not furnishing the tools to do the job, the ability to decline assignments are also factors that clearly apply to us.

And rarely (probably with the only exception of auditing presentation or movie trailers) do we have defined start and end times anyway. Generally we have a range of times -- do the FF shop from 11 to 1 or from 5 to 8 -- and we can schedule ourselves within those time ranges.

Even in the case of presentations (Medicare supplement plans, movies) the timing is still not set by the MSC, but by a third party. And you can choose to do the job or not.

Time to build a bigger bridge.
Thank you.

Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass under the trees on a summer's day, listening to the murmur of water, or watching the clouds float across the blue sky, is by no means waste of time. - John Lubbock, "Recreation," The Use of Life, 1894
_____
I’ve noticed that everyone who is for abortion has already been born. - Ronald Reagan
_____


Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/22/2015 05:17PM by Shop-et-al.
Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.

Click here to login